Technological Institute of the Philippines

TIP, TIPTEO Sign New Collective Bargaining Agreement

The Technological Institute of the Philippines (TIP) and its employees’ union, the TIP Teachers and Employees Organization (TIPTEO) recently signed a new collective bargaining agreement (CBA) for the period 15 June 2014 to 14 June 2019.During the negotiations, the TIP panel was chaired by Alicia V. Napud, TIP vice president for finance and administration, assisted by the management panel members namely: Jemuel C. Castillo, TIP vice president for quality management and planning; Dante T. Lorica, head of medical and dental services of TIP Manila; and Ena Maigue. On the other hand, the union panel was chaired by the union president, Lorna R. Dimatatac, a faculty member of the College of Arts of TIP Quezon City, assisted by the following union panel members: Hiyasalde H, Cadiente, faculty member, College of Education of TIPQC, Manuel J. Sisor, and Rovelyn G. Evangelista. The agreement was unanimously ratified by the members of the union. It was formally signed by the members of both panels on May 23, 2014 and witnessed by the TIP president, Dr. Elizabeth Quirino-Lahoz, during the formal signing. The new CBA will be submitted to the Department of Labor and Employment for the agreement’s official registration.

The negotiations for the new CBA were concluded in just three days which reflected the high mutual respect that both panels showed toward each other. This was also indicative of the trust and confidence that the TIP employees have with the management of the institution. With the new agreement in place, the TIP community will have better collective confidence that it will be able to surmount the future challenges and will be able to continue its mission of empowering the Filipino youth through technological education of the highest standard and transform them into graduates with full competence and who also possess Filipino values, industry-desired values and global-citizen values.