Technological Institute of the Philippines

T.I.P. recognizes top performing instructors, best OBTL portfolio in mid-year assembly

"When we deliver extraordinary, remarkable, and outstanding customer experience, it translates to a happy and memorable feeling for students, therefore making 'magical moments.'"

Such were the words of Dr. Elizabeth Quirino-Lahoz, president of the Technological Institute of the Philippines (T.I.P.), during the school's virtual mid-year assembly attended by almost a thousand of its teaching and non-teaching staff.

The event, among others, recognized 15 top performing faculty members and outcomes-based teaching and learning (OBTL) portfolios based on management reviews and student satisfaction surveys per campus.

T.I.P. Manila's top performing instructors include Norma Aurora Sy (Physical Education), Christher Joseph del Rio (Marine Transportation), John Carlo Samarita (Civil Engineering), and Arnold Ferrer (Civil Engineering).

For T.I.P. Quezon City, the top performing instructors were Ronnie Ventocilla (Marine Engineering), Christine Ann Teodoro (Electrical Engineering), Paul Marix Reyes (Physical Education), and Ferdinan Alarcon (Marine Engineering).

Winners were chosen based on students' appraisal of faculty members. Each received a certificate of commendation and a copy of the commemorative book "Teacher Teacher: A Tribute to Teachers Everywhere" published by T.I.P. on its 50th founding anniversary. Only those evaluated by at least 200 students from three or more sections/ classes were considered.

The search for the best OBTL portfolio, meanwhile, is an annual academic tradition done to encourage outstanding instruction, innovation, and effective facilitation of learning in the classroom. All full-time and part-time faculty members, including industry lecturers, are eligible to join. Criteria for judging include developed and deployed teaching and learning activities, integrated learning experiences and student engagements, assessment tasks, constructive alignment, and other related information.

Awardees from T.I.P. Manila were John Carlo Samarita (Civil Engineering), Melvin Macapagal (Math/ Physics), and Marichelle Dones (College of Arts).

From T.I.P. Quezon City, the awardees were Christine Ann Teodoro (Electrical Engineering), Amparo Faraon (Math/ Physics), and Yvonne Ligaya Musico (Environmental and Sanitary Engineering).

Each received a certificate/ plaque of recognition and cash incentive. Consolation prizes were also given to Arnold Ferrer and Mon Arjay Malbog (Manila) and Lemuel Ladero and Rebecca Calderon (Quezon City).

For more information on T.I.P., visit or T.I.P.’s official social media accounts through @TIP1962official for Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

[Back to top]